Gauteng Government 41 views

Gauteng Government has posted 1 jobs

Gauteng Government

Powers of Government:    
  1. A legislative power to make laws 
  2. An executive power to carry out laws
  3. A judicial power to make laws
What's the three tier system? In a constitutional democracy such as South Africa, people are elected to hold office in local, provincial or national governments. This three-tier system is laid out in the Constitution, and each level has different roles and responsibilities. National Government has executive, legislative and judicial branches. Each branch operates based on criteria established by constitutional authority. Each branch works individually and collectively to establish and maintain laws for the country as a whole. The President is elected by Parliament and appoints a Cabinet of Ministers. They act as the executive committee of government and each Minister is the political head of a government department. The Presidency coordinates the work of government and provides direction and strategic support to ministers and departments. The Presidency monitors and evaluates overall progress towards achieving government goals Provincial Governments are allowed legislative and executive powers, alongside the powers of the national government, over a number of issues. These include gambling, education (excluding university education), the environment, healthcare, police services, vehicle licensing and welfare. The provincial governments are structured according to a parliamentary system where the executive is reliant on and answerable to the legislature. In each province the provincial legislature is directly elected by proportional representation, and the legislature in turn elects one of its members as Premier to head the executive. The Premier appoints a cabinet, consisting of members of the legislature, to administer the various departments of the provincial administration.​ Local Government in South Africa administers cities and smaller regions. These are known as municipalities. The local government is made up of elected councillors, the council administration and the people who live in the municipality, which includes residents, community based organisations and businesses. What is Government - Government' is about ruling: ruling the country (national government), ruling the province (provincial government) or ruling cities and towns (local government). A government refers to the basic rules by which a nation carries out its policies. Government has the responsibility to make policies and laws based on the rights and responsibilities of citizens and the delivery of government services. Government collects revenue (income) from taxes and uses this money to provide basic services and infrastructure that improves the lives of all the people in the country, particularly the poor.​ How does Government actually work? Governments have both a political arm, made up of elected officials, and an administrative arm, made up of administrators. Elected officials are responsible for making national, provincial or local policies - the laws that govern us. Administrators are career officials who have to implement these policies. As an example, a national Minister of Transport could propose in Parliament that no heavy duty trucks should be allowed drive on South Africa's roads over weekends. Parliament would debate it and put it to a vote. If the vote was in favour of the idea, it would be promulgated and become national law. Career officials in the Department of Transport would then have the job of making it work practically. None of this could happen without the involvement of every South African of voting age. Government - local, provincial and national - is made up of elected officials. Every citizen has the right to vote in a local, provincial or national election. And if you're not happy with the way things are working, take it up with your local, provincial or even nationally elected representative. Mandate of the Gauteng Provincial Government The Premier is the executive authority of the province, an authority that is sometimes exercised together with members of the executive council. The Premier has the power to appoint members of the executive council and assign their functions. The Premier, working with the executive council, exercises executive power by:
  • implementing provincial legislation in the province
  • implementing national legislation
  • administering national legislation in the province, if assigned by parliament
  • developing and implementing provincial policy
  • coordinating the functions of the provincial administration and its departments
  • performing any other function assigned to the provincial executive in terms of the constitution or law
Mission To support the Premier and Executive Council in implementing Gauteng Provincial Government (GPG) policies as well as their statutory and political responsibilities effectively and efficiently. Vision To be an innovative, responsive and vibrant nerve centre for people-centred governance. Values
  • Integrity - honesty, accountability, trust and respect
  • Batho Pele - caring, empathy, respect, recognition, value, reward, compassion and consultation
  • Teamwork - partnership, cooperation and consultation
  • Professionalism - capable, communication, skills development and transparency
  • Social equality - no discrimination on the basis of race, gender, sex, pregnancy, marital status, ethnic or social origin, age, disability, religion, conscience, belief, culture or language
Connect with us